Crystal Lake Cave

Own this business?

In 1868 lead miners drilled 40 feet into the ground to find traces of a rich lead vein. In this process they found very little lead, but instead discovered a natural geological wonder of matchless beauty. In 1932, the late Bernard Markus, (one of the original lead miners), opened the cave to the public, naming it Crystal Lake Cave. Miners also found other minerals and gems that are now available in our giftshop located on the property. Today, Crystal Lake Cave is the longest “living” show cavern in the state of Iowa, and growing everyday.